Focus

It’s been another couple of weeks since I’ve written.  Gosh, this life gets overwhelming sometimes. For anyone who hasn’t read my blog posts in the past, I encourage you to have a look at some of them to give some context for this one.  My Blog is a place of personal expression and enlightenment where I hope to connect with others through my experiences – many of which are due to an brain injury sustained as an adolescent.

Today I have chosen to write about focus.  It’s something that I struggle with a lot, both on a macro and micro-management scale.  I fully believe that more and more people are plagued with this as well, living in this fast-moving society that we live in.  In this busy, loud, multi-tasking world, it’s difficult to stay on track these days – whether with one particular task, or on a grander scale of aligning life choices with one end goal in mind.

Focus is such an abstract concept, but an important one.  I see people all around me struggling with this same thing, so I don’t feel alone – nor do I believe that my struggle is “due to” my injury.  I think that’s a huge thing for anyone to accept post-trauma.  The awareness that we are not alone in our experiences is one level of acceptance, but that our experience is not necessarily an isolated incident due to only this type of injury (brain injury) is a deeper level of acceptance.  But I digress…. (ironic, as I discuss the concept of focus…) lol

Whether it be in our moment-to-moment interaction with the world around us, or our overall commitment of energy as a whole, I believe we can all benefit from an increased level of focus.  “And what might that look like,” you ask?  Tuning in more intently in a conversation, directing more energy in a physical exertion, or simply freeing up your mind to attend without inhibition to the task at hand – all of these instances can amount to greater focus and, in turn, greater performance or a deeper, more alert experience.

Try it sometime.

It’s how the best physical training coaches direct their athletes, how musicians perfect their craft, and how good friends establish such a strong connection.  It’s the practice of “presence” – being fully in the moment, physically/intectually/emotionally.  If you are looking to improve a skill, deepen a relationship, or just experience life more fully, I highly recommend this personal practice.

And don’t be discouraged when you find you have to take a break, or you feel your mind wandering, or you feel like you’re making the same mistakes over and over.  Let your awareness expand through the experience.  Take a minute to reflect and notice what you notice about your presence, your performance and what is happening around you.  The repetition of this practice will help to increase your mind’s sensitivity to the experience, and you will surprise yourself with the improvements you will see.

This is my life.

Leave a Reply

