Another New Year, Another Attempt at Blogging

Last year I committed to “365 Days of Happiness” posts on Facebook. It was tough at the beginning and at many points throughout the year. I struggled to be happy some days, or at least to find the silver lining amidst the gloom. But, I did it! Even on days that I missed posting to Facebook, I would think about what was the happiest point in my day and then post in retrospect to get myself caught up.

Through that exercise I discovered a few things:

1. I CAN do something on a daily basis if I set my mind to it. 

2. I work better when I can work on one thing at a time. (I had a daily post for work at one point also).

3. I really miss writing. And…

4. I need to slow down.

So, this year’s commitment is this: 

I want to be more intentional.

So, what does that look like exactly?

1. I want to post less often on Facebook, but invest in more intentional and substantial posts. I want to use Facebook more intentionally, not as a time filler but as a tool for connecting. And I want to write in my blog again (so you’ll see those posts shared through my Facebook).

2. I want to manage my time more intentionally – time in relationships, time for work, time by myself (scheduling wisely).  

3. I want to be more intentional with my living space (minimalism). I have decided to dedicate the month of January to purging and organizing. 
4. I want to get back to spending time doing the hobbies I once enjoyed – guitar, clarinet, scrapbooking, fitness. 

As an extroverted introvert, I pretty much spend my days in conflict – wanting to be connected, but needing my alone time. Social media is such a great tool for this. I do, however, find that at different times in my life I get stuck in one position or the other (either on or off). Over the past 365 days I have discovered that I am happiest when I honour both sides of my yin and yang more intentionally.

Alas…this is how we begin the year. Having spent the last of 2016 with friends and family, James and I started our New Year today with friends and now we sit in the quiet at home. Here’s to 364 more days of intentional experience in this thing called life. 😊 Happy 2017!

Leave a Reply

