#TransitTrial

This year has been a tough year financially. As such, I’ve been cutting back in every area possible. Last year I had already cut cable, found a cheaper internet provider, started shopping at the budget-friendly grocery stores, and was eating out less often. I got a Scene Points debit card, and found an app that rewards me with Scene Points for my FitBit steps then use my points to see movies. 

I thought I was doing everything I could to spend less, but upon reviewing my monthly expenses one more time I realized that there was only one more area in which I could possibly spend less – transportation. It also just so happened that the big transit debate was currently happening in the realm of social media. I started typing a post for Twitter to the effect that I sadly couldn’t possibly use transit for my work as I visit people in their homes from one end of the city to the other. But then I stopped. I was pretty sure there was no way, but had I ever even tried? The answer was No.

And so began the self-investigation of my #TransitTrial. 😊 It sort-of held a two-fold purpose – first, to save money, and secondly to test out the possibilities using the city’s current public transit system. Since then I have been tweeting using that above hashtag and have had lots of great local response. 

Most recently I was approached about blogging my experiences, instead of simply tweeting. I had had at least one other prior suggestion of the same, but given my challenge with brain injury and the overwhelming nature of life tasks I was convinced this wasn’t possible. However, over the past weeks (and, really, the past year), I have become more and more interested in the concept of simplifying life (aka: minimalism). Once again, then, I found myself pondering concepts that easily fit together. Convinced that I didn’t have time, but knowing that something like social media was becoming just a distraction more than a support in my life at the moment, I knew what I had to do.

Leading into my last way of saving money, I decided I will take data off my phone at the end of this billing cycle. By not using Facebook and Twitter while riding the bus, I will not only have more time for blogging (which I will post at the end of the day), but I will save more money by only using my phone as a phone. The simplicity is culpable – I can just feel the stress melting from my brain.

So, here I go…diving into the blogging experience which will now replace my sometimes stressful and ultimately time-sucking connection to Facebook. Yes, I said it. I love the social media platform dearly, but when I look at the priorities in my life right now having Facebook on my phone is not one of them. And so, I’ve discovered a third benefit of this #transittrial (among many others, of course) which is that it’s encouraging me to simplify even further. 

One final note before I get this thing started: In addition to the #transittrial, it was brought to my attention that I might also benefit from a #multimodaltrial by incorporating the use of my bicycle. Given that I just got a bike last year, I thought this was an AWESOME idea! I am already envisioning ways that it will make my commute faster and my schedule more manageable. Now I will be fully #multimodal by walking, biking, busing, AND using my car on occasion. Look out world, here I come!

And there you have it, folks. I hope you will enjoy my thoughts and insights over these next days and weeks of blogging. I think it’s about time I dusted off this platform and used it more regularly again. 

Talk with you again soon!

Leave a Reply

